Skip to product information
1 of 1

Colonial Acres Coins

SKU: SKU:115728

2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Lawren S. Harris Fine Silver (No Tax)

2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Lawren S. Harris Fine Silver (No Tax)

Regular price $55.25
Regular price $65.00 Sale price $55.25
Sale Sold out
We buy at $0.00
2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Lawren S. Harris Fine Silver (No Tax)

Toronto Street, Winter Morning (1920) by Lawren S. Harris

This $20 silver coin is 99.99% fine silver with a weight of 31.39 grams and a diameter of 38 millimetres.

The reverse features an adaptation of Lawren S. Harris's painting, Toronto Street, Winter Morning. In the central field of the reverse image, Royal Canadian Mint engravers have created a striking interpretation of Harris's depiction of a formerly genteel Victorian neighbourhood in Toronto that had, by the 1920s, begun to fall on difficult times.

The engraving artfully captures the painting's important visual markers, including the sense of isolation in the individual figures shuffling along the snow-covered sidewalks; Harris's fascination with the interaction of past and present in the central images of Victorian buildings and horse-drawn delivery van; and the painting's definitive linear tension in the vertical and horizontal lines of street, architecture, and small stand of trees.

The outer frame on the reverse side features the words 'CANADA' and 'LAWREN S. HARRIS' along with the date '2013' and the face value of '20 DOLLARS.' The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Item Number: 115728
Face Value: 20 dollars
Mintage: 7,000 (Shared mintage with subscription)
Composition: 99.99% fine Silver
Weight (g): 31.39
Diameter (mm): 38
Edge: Serrated
Finish: Proof
Certificate: Serialized

Special Features:
- Fourth coin in a 7-coin series of coins featuring Canadian Art by the Group of Seven. The first three coins sold out quickly. Three more coins will be launched in 2013.
- Exquisite craftsmanship. Every brush stroke is recreated.
- Struck in 1 ounce of 99.99% pure silver.
- Also available in this series are Stormy Weather by F.H. Varley, Fishing Village by Arthur Lismer and Houses, Cobalt by Franklin Carmichael. The remaining coins complete the Group of Seven series The Guardian of the Gorge by Franz Johnston; Sumacs by J.E.H. MacDonald and Saint-Tite-des-Caps by A.Y. Jackson.

Coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell case lined with flock and protected by a black sleeve.
View full details