Skip to product information
1 of 1

Colonial Acres Coins

SKU: SKU:115721

2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven - A.Y. Jackson Fine Silver #7 (No Tax)

2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven - A.Y. Jackson Fine Silver #7 (No Tax)

Regular price $63.75
Regular price $75.00 Sale price $63.75
Sale Sold out
We buy at $0.00

⦾ Not Available

2013 Canada $20 Group of Seven Series - A.Y. Jackson Fine Silver Coin (#7 and Final in Series) (TAX Exempt) - 115721.

Saint-Tite-des-Caps by A.Y. Jackson

This $20 silver coin is 99.99% fine silver with a weight of 31.39 grams and a diameter of 38 millimetres. The reverse features an adaptation of A.Y. Jackson's painting, Saint-Tite-des-Caps. In the central field of the reverse image, Royal Canadian Mint engravers have created a stunning interpretation of Jackson's romantic depiction of one of his favourite painting locales of the 1920's and early 1930s: the north shore of the Saint Lawrence.

Here we see his masterful vision of a transitional moment in the wintry, snow-covered rolling landscape of the region. Jackson's characteristic visual language is evident in his affectionate treatment of the human elements within the natural setting, such as the sleepy snow-capped houses that are the primary subject of the painting and the central image of the coin's reverse.

A single, lyrical tree rises in the left portion of the foreground, while the houses are backed by a distant horizon of tall rolling hills and stylized evergreens. In the sky above, high banks of clouds are punctuated with dramatic sun rays.

The outer frame on the reverse side features the words 'CANADA' and 'A.Y. JACKSON' along with the date '2013' and the face value of '20 DOLLARS.' The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Item Number: 115721
Face Value: 20 dollars
Mintage: 7,000 (Shared mintage with subscription)
Composition: 99.99% fine Silver
Weight (g): 31.39
Diameter (mm): 38
Edge: Serrated
Finish: Proof
Certificate: Serialized

Special Features:
- Seventh and last coin in the 7-coin series! The first four coins of the Group of Seven sold out quickly.
- Every brush stroke is recreated from the original painting in a beautiful proof finish In order to capture the dramatic movement of snow, special attention to the engraving was required including unique finishes to distinguish the house. A true testament to exceptional RCM craftsmanship.
- Struck in 1 ounce of 99.99% pure silver.
- Also available in this series are Toronto Street, Winter Morning by Lawren S. Harris, Stormy Weather by F.H. Varley, Fishing Village by Arthur Lismer, Houses, Cobalt by Franklin Carmichael, The Guardian of the Gorge by Franz Johnston and Sumacs, by J.EH. MacDonald.

Coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell case lined with flock and protected by a black sleeve.
View full details