Skip to product information
1 of 1

Colonial Acres Coins

SKU: SKU:116516

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Franklin Carmichael Silver (No Tax)

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Franklin Carmichael Silver (No Tax)

Regular price $59.50
Regular price $70.00 Sale price $59.50
Sale Sold out
We buy at $0.00

⦿ 3 Available

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Franklin Carmichael Silver (No Tax)

This $20 silver coin is 99.99% fine silver with a weight of 31.39 grams and a diameter of 38 millimetres. The reverse features an adaptation of Houses, Cobalt by Franklin Carmichael. The subject of the original lithograph is Cobalt, Ontario, a town that had experienced an economic boom in silver mining in the first decade of the twentieth century but which was declining in the 1920s. In the midst of its decline, Carmichael, attracted by its otherworldly landscape, was inspired to represent the city in this memorable linocut print.

The scene illustrates a rugged rolling hillside, covered in snow, dotted here and there with snow-covered houses. With the exception of the houses, there are few signs of human habitation, lending the scene a forlorn air of abstraction. Carmichael's work is interpreted in exceptional detail by Royal Canadian Mint engravers. The outer frame on the reverse side features the words 'CANADA' and 'FRANKLIN CARMICHAEL' along with the date '2012' and the face value of '20 DOLLARS.' The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Item Number: 116516
Face Value: 20 dollars
Mintage: 7,000
Composition: 99.99% pure Silver
Weight (g): 31.39
Diameter (mm): 38
Edge: Serrated
Finish: Proof

Special Features:
  • 3rd coin in a 7 coin series of coins featuring Canadian Art by the Group of Seven. 3 coins will launch in 2012 and 4 more in 2013.
  • Exquisite craftsmanship.
  • Struck in 1 ounce of 99.99% pure silver.
  • The first issue was Stormy Weather by F.H. Varley. The remaining 4 coins complete the Group of Seven, Toronto Street, Winter Morning by Lawren S. Harris The Guardian of the Gorge by Franz Johnston, Sumacs by J.E.H. MacDonald and Saint-Tite-des-Caps by A.Y. Jackson.

    Coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell case lined with flock and protected by a black sleeve.
  • View full details