Skip to product information
1 of 1

Colonial Acres Coins

SKU: SKU:117951

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Arthur Lismer (TAX Exempt)

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Arthur Lismer (TAX Exempt)

Regular price $59.50
Regular price $70.00 Sale price $59.50
Sale Sold out
We buy at $0.00

⦿ 1 Available

2012 Canada $20 Group of Seven - Arthur Lismer Fine Silver Coin (TAX Exempt)

Nova Scotia Fishing Village (1930) by Arthur Lismer

The reverse image features a detail from Arthur Lismer's 1930 painting, Nova Scotia Fishing Village. In this detail, we see a robust example of Lismer's style during a period in which he created some of his most interesting and enduring works. It was around this time, for instance, that Lismer evolved the pattern of dense composition, crude and almost lurid brushwork, and interplay of human and natural landscapes that would become characteristic of his work. The subject is a fishing wharf lined with huts, set against a village on a high bluff in the background. Lobster traps, floats, weights, buoys, barrels, bags, bottles, drying racks, docks, fisherman, shacks, and homes are piled one upon the other, the profuse ephemera of maritime life bursting from the expertly engraved reproduction in layers of mesmerizing detail. The density of this world of objects is emphasized in the dizzying interaction of shapes and the rough, swirling character of Lismer's brushstrokes, skillfully captured by Royal Canadian Mint engravers. Together with the slightly off-kilter vantage point of the painting, these details evoke the fairytale quality of sea lore. The detail is framed by a polished border with the words 'ARTHUR LISMER' and 'CANADA,' the year '2012,' and the face value '20 DOLLARS.' The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Item Number: 117951
Face Value: 20 dollars
Mintage: 7,000
Composition: 99.99% pure Silver
Weight (g): 31.39
Diameter (mm): 38
Edge: Serrated
Finish: Proof

Special Features:
- 2nd coin in a 7 coin series of coins featuring Canadian Art by the Group of Seven. 3 coins will launch in 2012 and 4 more in 2013.
- Exquisite craftsmanship. Every brush stroke is recreated!
- Struck in 1 ounce of 99.99% pure silver.
- The first issue was Stormy Weather by F.H. Varley. The remaining 5 coins complete the Group of Seven Houses, Cobalt by Franklin Carmichael, Toronto Street, Winter Morning by Lawren S. Harris The Guardian of the Gorge by Franz Johnston, Sumacs by J.E.H. MacDonald and Saint-Tite-des-Caps by A.Y. Jackson.

Coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell case lined with flock and protected by a black sleeve.
View full details