Home > Products >

2010-D USA Presidential Dollar - Abraham Lincoln Uncirculated (MS-60)

2010-D USA Presidential Dollar - Abraham Lincoln Uncirculated (MS-60)
This image is a stock image. The product you receive may not be the exact product pictured. Colonial Acres is unable to take images of individual stock items.

Alternative Views:

List Price: $3.00
Our Price: $2.75
Earn 1 points

Quantity in Stock:5

Availability: Expect Delays of 5+ Business Days

2010-D USA Presidential Dollar - Abraham Lincoln - Single

Featuring one of the most famous former Presidents of the United States, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Dollar generated significant interest from both coin collectors and the general public. This was the sixteenth release for the series overall and the final release for the year 2010.

Born into a poor frontier family, Abraham Lincoln would become a self taught lawyer and serve in the Illinois legislature and the House of Representatives. While campaigning for the Senate, his debates on slavery with Stephen A. Douglas brought him to national attention and helped secure the Republican presidential nomination. After being elected, his first term would be dominated by the American Civil War and efforts to abolish slavery. Lincoln would be assassinated just weeks into his second term, as the war was drawing to an end.

In the year before the release of the the Lincoln Presidential Dollar, the bicentennial of his birth had been celebrated with four different reverse designs for the 2009 Lincoln Cent and with the issuance of the 2009 Lincoln Commemorative Silver Dollar. In 2010, the cent would feature a new reverse design to represent his preservation of the union.

On November 18, 2010, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Dollar was released into circulation, capping two years of increased presence within U.S. coinage. The release was marked by an official launch ceremony held at President Lincoln's Cottage on the grounds of the Armed Forces Retirement Home in Washington, DC. The event was attended by US Mint Director Edmund Moy, the Director of Lincoln's Cottage Erin Carlson Mast, and many enthusiastic members of the public.

The obverse of the coin featured a portrait of Lincoln designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. The inscriptions on the obverse included his name, the order of the Presidency "16th", years of the term "1861-1865", and the motto "In God We Trust".

The reverse of the coin was also designed and sculpted by Everhart. It portrayed the Statue of Liberty with inscriptions "United States of America" and the denomination "$1". The incuse edge lettering of the coin included the date, mint mark, and the motto "E Pluribus Unum".

Production for circulation took place at the Philadelphia and Denver Mints, with a combined 97,020,000 coins struck.

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

United States Decimal & Sets > USA Dollar > Presidential
United States Decimal & Sets > USA Series & Mint Sets > 2007-2016 Presidential Dollar Coins > 2007-2011 USA Presidential Singles